Certified Education Technology Leader (CETL)

We have a new Certified Educational Technology Leader (CETL) cohort starting.
When: Tuesdays from April 26 through Jun 27 from noon to 1:00 PM
Why: To prepare to sit for the CoSN CETL certification exam
How: A flipped classroom model for this cohort
Participants will have access to the official CoSN CETL along with access to previously recorded 90-minute sessions covering the CETL Framework from Jim Stewart, Rick Gaisford, Cory Stokes, Cody Spendlove, and Kathy Webb.
Participants review the CoSN CETL coursework, listen/watch the pre-recorded session and then meet via Zoom each Tuesday for a 45 to 60 minute discussion session including breakout rooms.
Cost per participant: $100 billed by SEDC
Value: the rest of the curriculum cost and the cost to cover the certification exam is covered for participants
Sign up using the form:  https://forms.gle/GbsBnWemMSdCtwQr8
Minimum of 10 participants to carry a cohort.
Expect an invoice for $100 from SEDC by April 12.
Access to the recordings and the CoSN CETL coursework available by April 19.

The CETL Candidate Handbook has complete program details, policies, and an outline of what is covered on the exam.

For more information contact:


Current number of CETLs = 61
State/Regional Organizations with at least one CETL = 6
School Districts with at least one CETL = 19

List of CETLs in Utah

1 James Black Washington District
2 David Bowman Jordan District
3 Aaron Brewer San Juan District
4 David Brown San Juan District
5 Reese Brunson Nebo District
6 Barry Bryson UETN
7 Todd Call USBE
8 Antonio Campbell Washington District
9 Charice Carroll UETN
10 Kevin Chapman Millard District
11 Camille Cole Canyons District
12 Jared Covili UETN
13 Greg Cox USBE
14 Kim Davis UETN
15 Darren Draper Canyons District
16 Kelly Dumont Canyons District
17 Melanie Durfee USBE
18 Guy Durrant retired
19 Jason Eyre Murray District
20 Rick Gaisford USBE
21 Jason Eyre Murray District
22 Rick Gaisford USBE
23 Alan Gibbons Cache District
24 Dean Glanville Canyons District
25 Robert Gordon Canyons District
26 Mark Houtz NUES
27 Dan Johnson Grand District
28 Jessica Kallin USBE
29 Dani Kauerz Sloan UETN
30 Jim Langston Tooele District
31 Chris Larsen Granite District
32 J. Derek Larson Washington District
33 Paul Lewis Alpine District
34 Tyler Lewis Washington District
35 David Long Logan City District
36 Scot McCombs Canyons District
37 Craig Milligan Washington District
38 Duke Mossman CUES
39 Nadean Neilson South Sanpete District
40 Andrea Peterson Wayne District
41 Whitney Phillips USBE
42 Cody Plumhof Washington District
43 Robert Potts SESC
44 Sam Quantz Salt Lake District
45 Shannon Ririe UETN
46 Charles Roberts retired
47 Dani Sloan UETN
48 Tim Smith Cache District
49 Mark Sowa Jordan District
50 Cody Spendlove Alpine District
51 James Stewart UETN
52 James Stocks Grand County District
53 Cory Stokes UETN
54 Jason Strate CUES
55 Jeanette Stubbs Iron County District
56 Chet Torgersen Sevier District
57 Tav Truman Washington District
58 Kathleen Webb USBE
59 Kevin Womack Cache District
60 Joe Wright SEDC
61 Sarah Young USBE

Some History: 

  • At a statewide educational technology conference for teachers back in November 2012, a group of educational technology directors met and discussed the idea that the technology directors in the state needed to develop a long term strategic professional development plan/program for the current and upcoming school, district, regional and state technology directors/leaders.   This discussion continued for the next year, meeting with the Utah Technology Coordinators Council (TCC) (this is the technology directors statewide committee) several times during the year and several in depth discussions on what was the right direction to take for this PD.   
  • After looking at the CoSN CETL framework and CETL program in general it was decided to push forward this program (it was exactly what the TCC was looking for to help move educational technology forward in the state). 
  • We developed a plan with specific CETL outcomes and the state board provided provided us $25,000 to get the program off the ground.  The first two years were 100% funded by this grant.
  • By fall of 2014, Utah had started their first cohort of 20+ technology leaders and by the fall of 2015 had close to 20 CETLs in the state.  We currently have 61 CETLs with several other leaders planning to take the exam soon.
  • To keep the cost down, CETLs volunteer to teach/facilitate the class each year.   CETLs in Utah are willing to take their turn to facilitate this each year.